Path noding problem please help :(

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
User avatar
rohitggarg
Adept
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:18 am
Personal rank: The name is Bu||et
Location: India

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by rohitggarg »

It also has the same prob that it is not pathnoded if it is in the air ...

@Ferali - Can you please think of something that can be useful in this situation. All that is required is that it gets pathnoded even if it is in air...
Regards,
Rohit

CATCH ME IF YOU CAN.............
Image

My website : http://www.appointmentagent.com
User avatar
Feralidragon
Godlike
Posts: 5498
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Work In Progress
Location: Liandri

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by Feralidragon »

@Alex and the ones who aim for standalone BotBurguer: Sorry, but I totally forgot to make it yesterday lol
As promissed, "only botburguer" version:
BotBurguer.rar
rohitggarg wrote:It also has the same prob that it is not pathnoded if it is in the air ...

@Ferali - Can you please think of something that can be useful in this situation. All that is required is that it gets pathnoded even if it is in air...
What do you mean in the air? For bots or flying pawns? If it's for bots, the only way is using the botburguers and jumpspots together with lift exists (Creavion had a problem in making the bots jumping to go get an item, and this actor solved things out, making them "smarter"), or with translocator spots (don't quite remember the name of that one).
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Creavion
Godlike
Posts: 4497
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:23 pm
Personal rank: About to be non-act.
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by Creavion »

luluthefirst wrote:For force the bot to jump, you need to place an inventory/trapspringer to get the bot attired with this stuff, and it need to be with the lift jump you want.
Does this really work or is this only a hypothesis it could work?
About to be non-active
My very last UT map project: CTF-FacePalm (tropical CTF-Face remake)
Why do I leave? click here
What I want to do next: Joining an UDK team (uncertain however) and improve 3D modelling and texture editing skills
Thanks to those who visibly supported me until/at the end!
My reactivated account on indiedb.com.
User avatar
Feralidragon
Godlike
Posts: 5498
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Work In Progress
Location: Liandri

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by Feralidragon »

luluthefirst wrote:For force the bot to jump, you need to place an inventory/trapspringer to get the bot attired with this stuff, and it need to be with the lift jump you want.
In that case the BotBurguer would do that job better (after all it follows the base you described), since it's highly tweakable, triggerable and timed.
But of course, all depends on the mapper needs.
User avatar
Creavion
Godlike
Posts: 4497
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:23 pm
Personal rank: About to be non-act.
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by Creavion »

No, I am pretty sure (95 %) you can not teach bots in ut1 to liftjump.
About to be non-active
My very last UT map project: CTF-FacePalm (tropical CTF-Face remake)
Why do I leave? click here
What I want to do next: Joining an UDK team (uncertain however) and improve 3D modelling and texture editing skills
Thanks to those who visibly supported me until/at the end!
My reactivated account on indiedb.com.
User avatar
rohitggarg
Adept
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:18 am
Personal rank: The name is Bu||et
Location: India

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by rohitggarg »

The script for the same has already been written post UT2k4 :D

Maybe we can add the same to UT1 and hope it works.....
Regards,
Rohit

CATCH ME IF YOU CAN.............
Image

My website : http://www.appointmentagent.com
User avatar
Creavion
Godlike
Posts: 4497
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:23 pm
Personal rank: About to be non-act.
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by Creavion »

This "bots - can - do - the - liftjump" is native coded afaik, ....so you can not solve it over uscript.
About to be non-active
My very last UT map project: CTF-FacePalm (tropical CTF-Face remake)
Why do I leave? click here
What I want to do next: Joining an UDK team (uncertain however) and improve 3D modelling and texture editing skills
Thanks to those who visibly supported me until/at the end!
My reactivated account on indiedb.com.
User avatar
Feralidragon
Godlike
Posts: 5498
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 6:24 pm
Personal rank: Work In Progress
Location: Liandri

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by Feralidragon »

rohitggarg wrote:The script for the same has already been written post UT2k4 :D

Maybe we can add the same to UT1 and hope it works.....
Creavion wrote:This "bots - can - do - the - liftjump" is native coded afaik, ....so you can not solve it over uscript.
The only way to make bots do liftjumps in UT1, is by force them to jump at a certain spot, but in that case the bot would be really "WTF?!", and it wouldn't try to move properly forward or backwards to complete the jump (the bot would just fall and die if it's too high).
Unless there is something we don't know or that I didn't see properly that could make bots liftjump, since I am NOT a Bot AI expert either.
User avatar
Creavion
Godlike
Posts: 4497
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:23 pm
Personal rank: About to be non-act.
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by Creavion »

I think you would bang your head against a brick wall. UT1s Bots are just to stupid. And in UT2004 the Liftjump setting is directly included in the LiftExit Actors or so.
About to be non-active
My very last UT map project: CTF-FacePalm (tropical CTF-Face remake)
Why do I leave? click here
What I want to do next: Joining an UDK team (uncertain however) and improve 3D modelling and texture editing skills
Thanks to those who visibly supported me until/at the end!
My reactivated account on indiedb.com.
User avatar
rohitggarg
Adept
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:18 am
Personal rank: The name is Bu||et
Location: India

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by rohitggarg »

Yea true :loool: .... bots are really stupid in UT1 or else this thread wouldn't have existed altogether.. :highfive:

I don't think a bot can anyways fire at someone if he is doing a liftjump anyways so its close to useless making our heads bang for just making that bot jump thru the lift. The only advantage would be he would be able to reach certain spots that he wont be able to reach unless a lift jump is executed... I don't think mappers place a restriction that "Only liftjump will allow you to progress further, else forget it..". Liftjump is more of a trick move and a combat style for some real expert shock whores and snipies..

Tx for the burger bro....Now i will enjoy the party :)
Regards,
Rohit

CATCH ME IF YOU CAN.............
Image

My website : http://www.appointmentagent.com
User avatar
zacman
Adept
Posts: 412
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2009 5:36 am
Personal rank: M-M-M-MONSTER KILL

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by zacman »

rohitggarg wrote:Yea true :loool: .... bots are really stupid in UT1 or else this thread wouldn't have existed altogether.. :highfive:

I don't think a bot can anyways fire at someone if he is doing a liftjump anyways so its close to useless making our heads bang for just making that bot jump thru the lift. The only advantage would be he would be able to reach certain spots that he wont be able to reach unless a lift jump is executed... I don't think mappers place a restriction that "Only liftjump will allow you to progress further, else forget it..". Liftjump is more of a trick move and a combat style for some real expert shock whores and snipies..

Tx for the burger bro....Now i will enjoy the party :)
Hey! Lift Jumping is used by more than snipers and shock whores! The Armor in DM-Barricade can only be reached with Low G or LiftJumping :P
Image[url=steam://friends/add/76561198048595886]Image[/url]
User avatar
rohitggarg
Adept
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:18 am
Personal rank: The name is Bu||et
Location: India

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by rohitggarg »

Yea that's why i said its a trick move... You have got extra points for trick moves ain't it...
Regards,
Rohit

CATCH ME IF YOU CAN.............
Image

My website : http://www.appointmentagent.com
User avatar
Creavion
Godlike
Posts: 4497
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:23 pm
Personal rank: About to be non-act.
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by Creavion »

Maybe, I dont know, but the mainclass "Bots" is part of UnrealShare like you said, UT uses "Bot" (Botpack).
About to be non-active
My very last UT map project: CTF-FacePalm (tropical CTF-Face remake)
Why do I leave? click here
What I want to do next: Joining an UDK team (uncertain however) and improve 3D modelling and texture editing skills
Thanks to those who visibly supported me until/at the end!
My reactivated account on indiedb.com.
User avatar
rohitggarg
Adept
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:18 am
Personal rank: The name is Bu||et
Location: India

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by rohitggarg »

Yea that's right. I am also trying to write a pathnode so that those idiot bots can jump on that :)

Will post if i am able to finish it....
Regards,
Rohit

CATCH ME IF YOU CAN.............
Image

My website : http://www.appointmentagent.com
User avatar
rohitggarg
Adept
Posts: 400
Joined: Wed Mar 12, 2008 7:18 am
Personal rank: The name is Bu||et
Location: India

Re: Path noding problem please help :(

Post by rohitggarg »

Whoppie!!

I used lift center as the base class and was able to make jump point which will make a bot jump for going to the other lift exit :)..
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by rohitggarg on Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:57 am, edited 1 time in total.
Regards,
Rohit

CATCH ME IF YOU CAN.............
Image

My website : http://www.appointmentagent.com