anti cheaters help

Discussions about Servers
lucifur
Novice
Personal rank: neiwbi admin

anti cheaters help

Post by lucifur »

Hi, I am a new UT99 server admin, I rented a server from gameservers.com at first for my private group, I have had a UT2004 server for couple years now but still learning I left it vanilla until thees last few months (I say this to give you my back ground knowledge).

So a few months ago I decided to get a UT99 server and my guys did not show much interest so I decided to make it public.

I have several problems like I cant get the mutators to work in the map vote, but today I logged on and this guy for two games did me head shots almost every time, he might be that good, but it's got me scared.

I don't want my server to be a haven for cheaters and ruin it, before it even gets started.

As far as I under stand it it has UTPURE on it already, and I did a search for cheats here in the forum and there was only one topic that referred to a windows based anti cheat program which wont do me any good, as I have a rented server number one and it is linux based.

Pointed to the right thread or advice would be helpful.

Thanks. :help:
gopostal

Re: anti cheaters help

Post by gopostal »

Certain gamestyles are pretty bad in UT. DM and CTF are pretty rife with sophisticated bots. As of now aside from UTDC, there is very little that is highly effective.

Your best bet is to get good admins. Nothing beats playing moderators.
lucifur
Novice

Post by lucifur »

Ok.

well I will start a new thread for next problem "Help with "mutator=x3dfxMapVotev24c.x3dfxMapVote" I cant get the mutators to work, I am sure it is simply I dont know what to put in the mutator= spot.

I will get UTDC installed.

Thanks,Shane
lucifur
Novice

Post by lucifur »

Thanks medor, but that put me in brain fog i will click on each link and try figure out.