Lighting - coronas

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
Raylen
Average
Personal rank: BunnyTracker

Lighting - coronas

Post by Raylen »

Hiya,

Someone (lots of people actually) said I should use coronas for making nice lighting. I'm going to come clean and say I'm a noob here, but:

1. What is a corona?
2. What does it look like?
3. Why do I need them?
4. How do I use them?

Related to this, do they work with software rendering?

Thanks!

PS. I know the answer to question 1 in terms of the sun, I mean in mapping terms :P
Thanks in advance for answering the above question!
Creavion
Godlike
Personal rank: About to be non-act.

Re: Lighting - coronas

Post by Creavion »

This explains everything, no need to reinvent the wheel:
http://wiki.beyondunreal.com/Legacy:Corona
http://www.unrealsp.org/community/level ... ing01.html

And yes: Cornoas are working with software, but why do you do care? I mean... its software.
About to be non-active
My very last UT map project: CTF-FacePalm (tropical CTF-Face remake)
Why do I leave? click here
What I want to do next: Joining an UDK team (uncertain however) and improve 3D modelling and texture editing skills
Thanks to those who visibly supported me until/at the end!
My reactivated account on indiedb.com.
>@tack!<
Adept
Personal rank: lol?

Post by >@tack!< »

coronas are these lights that you see in the screenshot, they scale with the player's position to it. you have to set bCorona to true in a light actor, the skin will be the corona texture and the drawscale will be the scale of the coronatexture. also the texture mixes with the lightcolour you choose if im right ( never used that ).
Metalfist
Masterful
Personal rank: ^,..,^ rawr

Post by Metalfist »

It's explained in the The Complete Unreal Ed Reference Guide (TCUERG) under lighting.
It's very complete full of tutorials (with pics) and tips, maybe it will help you further with mapping.

http://www.oldunreal.com/editing/TCUERG.zip
FraGnBraG