How to change renderer of the editor?

Discussions about UT99
Post Reply
User avatar
UnrealGGecko
Godlike
Posts: 2914
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 11:26 am
Personal rank: GEx the Gecko
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Contact:

How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by UnrealGGecko »

Right now my editor is using software renderer and I want to change that to d3d, but how do I do that?
UT99.org

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by UT99.org »

medor wrote:
GEx wrote:Right now my editor is using software renderer and I want to change that to d3d, but how do I do that?
can you rephrase ? I do not understand.

editor = unrealed ?
User avatar
Creavion
Godlike
Posts: 4497
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:23 pm
Personal rank: About to be non-act.
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Creavion »

medor wrote:editor = unrealed ?
... :omfg: :confused2: ... No comment!

Simply right-click on one of the grey bars above the viewports (where you can switch the displayed mode as well).

BTW: This belongs to the mapping section, nowhere else!
About to be non-active
My very last UT map project: CTF-FacePalm (tropical CTF-Face remake)
Why do I leave? click here
What I want to do next: Joining an UDK team (uncertain however) and improve 3D modelling and texture editing skills
Thanks to those who visibly supported me until/at the end!
My reactivated account on indiedb.com.
User avatar
Shadow
Masterful
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:00 am
Personal rank: Mad Carpenter
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Shadow »

Alternatively: go to your UnrealEd.ini, in the section of the viewport you want to have a different renderer than the stock software render (normally this is [U2Viewport0]) change Device=RendererClass to the class you want the viewport to be displayed with:

SoftDrv.SoftwareRenderDevice (CPU/Software)
D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice (DirectX7)
D3D8Drv.D3D8RenderDevice (DirectX8)
D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice (DirectX9)
OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice (OpenGL)

This way you can even set renderers you can't choose inside UnrealEd normally
Image
User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3348
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Dr.Flay »

This is covered in the tutorials section (where I also show you how to replace all the renderers for UT, eg. the preview windows and bot selection screens).
User avatar
Creavion
Godlike
Posts: 4497
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:23 pm
Personal rank: About to be non-act.
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Creavion »

Shadow wrote: D3D8Drv.D3D8RenderDevice (DirectX8)
D3D9Drv.D3D9RenderDevice (DirectX9)
OpenGLDrv.OpenGLRenderDevice (OpenGL)

This way you can even set renderers you can't choose inside UnrealEd normally
This is a half-way solution. You should mention you can not do a shit with these ones within the Ed. You can not select any actor, any surface, not anything. You can only use the camera to "browse" through the map and that`s it already. Impressive! These are not for mapping suitable render devices.
About to be non-active
My very last UT map project: CTF-FacePalm (tropical CTF-Face remake)
Why do I leave? click here
What I want to do next: Joining an UDK team (uncertain however) and improve 3D modelling and texture editing skills
Thanks to those who visibly supported me until/at the end!
My reactivated account on indiedb.com.
User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3348
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Dr.Flay »

I have had no problems using the D3D9 renderer for UEd (it may depend on your settings?)
I would recommend, if you want an alternative renderer for UEd, install the SDK and use OpenGL renderer included with that.
ASLY

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by ASLY »

For me D3D9 is buggy in UEd
After "Build-All" the lights are black and looking interesting, and when I take a look for the map in 3D not Top view my UEd is quit
But thats better render than other, looks in UEd the map like in the game
User avatar
Creavion
Godlike
Posts: 4497
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2008 7:23 pm
Personal rank: About to be non-act.
Location: Germany, Lower Saxony

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Creavion »

Dr.Flay wrote:I have had no problems using the D3D9 renderer for UEd (it may depend on your settings?)
I would recommend, if you want an alternative renderer for UEd, install the SDK and use OpenGL renderer included with that.
OK... you are right. I actually tried it out to reconfirm myself until I got an arrow into the knee.
I have no idea since WHEN this is possible, years ago it was definitely not possible with sightly older versions as it seems (you really could not do anything). I am totally surprised because me was told it could not be done for UT, since the render devices would have been required to implement into the engine - or something like that - kinda like with U1. But maybe because of U1 this "service" is now available for UT as well. Who knows. But since I am barely using the UT Ed anymore... for years, I did not notice. Clearly my bad! What else might I have missed?
About to be non-active
My very last UT map project: CTF-FacePalm (tropical CTF-Face remake)
Why do I leave? click here
What I want to do next: Joining an UDK team (uncertain however) and improve 3D modelling and texture editing skills
Thanks to those who visibly supported me until/at the end!
My reactivated account on indiedb.com.
User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3348
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Dr.Flay »

It is likely that you last tried it with an earlier version of the D3D9 renderer maybe.
The basic D3D renderer definitely does not work.

*Note to all*
It is possible to swap all of UT's renderers for all windows in the Editor and Game by changing one line.
http://www.ut99.org/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=3625#p35098
Do this once you have a reliable renderer that you trust.
I have had UT totally swapped to use the SDK for everything with no problems.
User avatar
Shadow
Masterful
Posts: 743
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 12:00 am
Personal rank: Mad Carpenter
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Shadow »

Yes, yes. Crev is partially right of course. The selection bug was removed by newer versions of the UTGLR Drivers. Since I update mine with them the problem was removed in the SDK too... well it was really really annoying to have that glitch since I simply didn't know where it came from..
Image
Torax
Adept
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 6:38 pm
Personal rank: Master of Coop
Location: Odessa, Ukraine

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Torax »

Is it possible to enable bloom in UTEditor?
I had found one old topic here with UTBloom instruction and needed files that adds bloom inside the game.

Need this to see how will look lights that i want to customize..
Unreal. Alter your reality..forever...
User avatar
Dr.Flay
Godlike
Posts: 3348
Joined: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:26 pm
Personal rank: Chaos Evangelist
Location: Kernow, UK
Contact:

Re: How to change renderer of the editor?

Post by Dr.Flay »

Are you talking about ENB bloom ?
Post Reply