Page 1 of 2

Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 7:17 am
by Xpress
Hi, need someone to help me understand how to make 2 skyboxes work at the same time
Image
Image
marked with red skybox, I need only one of areas to be connected to another skybox
thank you

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 7:52 am
by Higor
In this case, impossible.
SkyBoxes are assigned by your current zone, not by polygon you're looking at.

You could assign that zone a different skybox where it has the different lower part (but same stars above) using special code...
Things get a little complicated if the default skybox is rotating.

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 9:55 am
by papercoffee
Build one skybox with a scenery for the above part and a scenery for the beneath part ...put the skyzone-info between those two sceneries.
Rotation can be faked with moving textures and meshes connected to timed mover

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Tue Aug 25, 2015 10:31 am
by Chamberly
I always thought it's possible. Multiple mh maps has shown it to me that it was possible so I gotta see on that.

Edit: Found this one!

http://www.angelmapper.com/gamedev/tuto ... eskies.htm

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Thu Aug 27, 2015 9:36 pm
by Red_Fist
The only thing I gathered is the hi res, low res, by inserting two skybox zones.

Otherwise no other thing will work, but I like the upper lower scenery idea.

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 12:26 am
by JackGriffin
Wasn't there a multiple skybox mod floating around a couple of years back? If so I can conceive of a way to flag individual faces to render from the chosen skybox. That would make a really cool 3-D effect. Imagine playing a level in what appears to be a MASSIVE asteroid floating in a Saturn-like ring of thousands of them. You could render the small map to visually appear to be part of a much larger rock (skybox 1) then all the "sky" above it would be skybox 2 with a large revolving planet dominating the view (skybox 3). Match the blacks and you could get a seamless visual transformation.

Well, that's if multiple skyboxes are indeed possible.

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 1:56 am
by FraGnBraG
seriously guys? this is simple to do... i've done this many times :)

and there's no special code needed, just slick willy's multi-skyzone actor ...
fnb-multi-skys-Image3.jpg
fnb-multi-skys-Image2.jpg
Cheers

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Fri Aug 28, 2015 3:56 am
by Higor
Whops!
My case (skybox assigned to player zone) should only apply if the surface has the 'Force View Zone' flag, otherwise they indeed render the skybox corresponding to the zone the face belongs to.
Anyone wants to try if Fake Backdrop + Force View Zone indeed achieves said funky effect?

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 7:05 pm
by Loose Cannon
Bumping an old thread to figure out how to do this. Anybody know about the actor that fragnbrag is talking about or how to get it?

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 7:10 pm
by editor Dave
Create a new ZoneInfo class and paste this in here:

Code: Select all

//=============================================================================
// MultiSkyZoneInfo.
// by Steve Nabors
//
// www.planetunreal.com/slick
// slickWilly@planetunreal.com
//
// To use just create your skyboxes and give them each their own
// SkyZoneInfo.  When you place your SkyZoneInfo,  give it a tag name.
//
// Now place this zoneinfo in place of the normal ZoneInfo actor in
// the parts of the map where you have Fake BackDrops.
// You can use this ZoneInfo in place of any normal zone or any of the
// Liquid zones like Water and Lava.  It can't be used in place
// of any scripted zones like the NitrogenZone, VacuumZone, PressureZone,
// etc.  Liquid zones have no special code other than the default
// zoneinfo settings have been changed for you.  You can in reality
// take a normal zoneinfo and change it into a water, Lava, Tar zone
// just by adjusting the settings.
//
// Once you place this ZoneInfo in your level you will give it the
// the name of the skybox tag in it's event tag.  In the 2d view you
// will then see a link line to your skyzoneinfo.  Once linked up
// all fakebackdrop textures in the zone with this actor will point
// to the proper skybox info.  
//
//=============================================================================

class MultiSkyZoneInfo expands ZoneInfo;

simulated function LinkToSkybox()
{
	local skyzoneinfo Sky;

	Super.LinkToSkybox();

	foreach AllActors( class 'SkyZoneInfo', Sky, Event )
	{
		SkyZone = Sky;
	}
}
All explanations are written within already!

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 10:47 pm
by Chamberly
Loose Cannon wrote:Bumping an old thread to figure out how to do this. Anybody know about the actor that fragnbrag is talking about or how to get it?
Have you seen the link I posted?

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:12 pm
by Loose Cannon
Chamberly,

Yes I did see it. Couldn't seem to get it to work. Downloaded the sample map, but couldn't open it as it was .ut2 file.

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2018 11:23 pm
by SC]-[WARTZ_{HoF}
It's because the sample map was designed for UT2004.

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 12:13 am
by Loose Cannon
If it's designed for UT 2004 will that info work for UT99?

Editor Dave, I'm working on your info. Tried it and got a huge BSP issue. I'll try to play around with it more over the weekend when I have more time. I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks!

Re: Multiple skyboxes

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2018 2:14 pm
by editor Dave
Hm, I've never had a BSP issue because of the actor itself, I mean it can't affect the BSP in any way. :lol2: Make sure that all of your zones are really seperated and have different colors in the Zone/Portal view. And maybe place the skyboxes far away from your main geometry so they can't interfere or be interfered with anything. Or maybe you forgot to compile the new actor? That is important, too.