Error Messages

Discussions about UT99
User avatar
heliumcat
Skilled
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:47 am

Re: Error Messages

Post by heliumcat »

JackGriffin wrote:You could literally create a batch file that overwrites the core UT files every single evening and it will never affect your game, it will only prevent corrupted files from giving you issues. You are going to find that UT loves to throw weird errors that don't make sense and you'll chase your tail trying to figure it out. Maybe you'll get an answer, maybe you won't but at the end of the day I just want it fixed so I can go back to doing what I was doing. In-place overwrites accomplish this easily.
I don't know if core files being corrupted is the main reason for most of those critical error crashes, sounds to me like it's just some bugfest induced by having too many custom content (mods, mutators, weapons, pawns...) running at once that weren't meant (or bugfixed) to run together in the first place or at least not in the way the user who has these crashes runs it.

I mean for having mods in video games in general, all I can say is:
http://i.imgur.com/EtjUE1P.jpg
User avatar
Saya-chan
Adept
Posts: 446
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2008 10:46 am
Personal rank: Former UT99 modder
Location: Vigo, Galicia

Re: Error Messages

Post by Saya-chan »

But it crashes even if you don't mod it, that's not a good example!
Image
  ~♥~ Bless the Cute Emperor ~♥~
User avatar
heliumcat
Skilled
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:47 am

Re: Error Messages

Post by heliumcat »

Saya-chan wrote:But it crashes even if you don't mod it, that's not a good example!
Does UT99 corrupt itself only while you run it?

What about copying the whole UnrealTournament folder (when it's still in a good state) to an external hard drive and keeping that as an emergency backup?

Or maybe reinstalling the v436 patch?
JackGriffin
Godlike
Posts: 3774
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:53 pm
Personal rank: -Retired-

Re: Error Messages

Post by JackGriffin »

It's just been my experience with the engine over these years that UT gets corrupted over time. I have a pretty good idea how it's messing up and I shared that with Anthrax because it's inducible from server to client and so I won't explain it (obviously). I'm not sure if it's something he could address but suffice to say that an in-place overwrite will repair any damage done. This damage is somewhat unavoidable but certain behaviors (like heavy modding) can worsen it so over extended amounts of time the odds are that your performance will degrade resulting in various crashing.
So long, and thanks for all the fish
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 9724
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Re: Error Messages

Post by EvilGrins »

Actually, I tend to think my newer install of UT is more corrupt than my original.

I transferred over all maps and files that went with them to the newer install. One of my favorite maps from back in the day was DM-CityLights; great map. However, it doesn't look right on my newer install but looks perfect on my original.

All the files are there, I didn't miss anything, but not all the textures are showing up as they should under the newer install.

It's not keeping me up nights or anything, but it confuses the heck outta me.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758
User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 10448
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.

Re: Error Messages

Post by papercoffee »

EvilGrins wrote:Actually, I tend to think my newer install of UT is more corrupt than my original.

I transferred over all maps and files that went with them to the newer install. One of my favorite maps from back in the day was DM-CityLights; great map. However, it doesn't look right on my newer install but looks perfect on my original.

All the files are there, I didn't miss anything, but not all the textures are showing up as they should under the newer install.

It's not keeping me up nights or anything, but it confuses the heck outta me.
Did you change what render UT should use as well? I tend to forget this sometimes.
User avatar
heliumcat
Skilled
Posts: 185
Joined: Mon Apr 01, 2013 11:47 am

Re: Error Messages

Post by heliumcat »

Can anyone actually explain this?

http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?t=183396

http://forums.beyondunreal.com/showthread.php?t=29286

I'm thinking of excluding that map from xmaps, as it happens everytime aswell here, on more than one computer.
User avatar
papercoffee
Godlike
Posts: 10448
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:36 am
Personal rank: coffee addicted !!!
Location: Cologne, the city with the big cathedral.

Re: Error Messages

Post by papercoffee »

Reviving this thread with an error message... I tested my D3D renderer (normally I'm using OpenGL)
Clipboard01.png
I was just browsing my map folder and didn't even start the map.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
FXANBSS
Skilled
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 7:03 pm

Re: Error Messages

Post by FXANBSS »

I have those errors everytime, but HUGE. :)
lubbeb
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2015 1:37 pm

Re: Error Messages

Post by lubbeb »

papercoffee wrote:Reviving this thread with an error message... I tested my D3D renderer (normally I'm using OpenGL)
Clipboard01.png
I was just browsing my map folder and didn't even start the map.


help! me too, I cant fix it
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 9724
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Re: Error Messages

Post by EvilGrins »

Totally forgot about this:
papercoffee wrote:Did you change what render UT should use as well? I tend to forget this sometimes.
Nah, both versions are setup with the same renderer.
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 9724
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Re: Error Messages

Post by EvilGrins »

This 1st one's no big deal, but I'm still curious:
- playing CTF4 on a standard CTF map
- happened on the winning point
- there were 4 UTDMT on the map
Image
What is that even about?

Most curious about these two:
I knew getting Windows 10 might cause issues with ut2004, and it does, but I had no idea it would effect Unreal2 also.

Unreal 2
Image

ut2004
Image

I largely only ever played ut2004 for bot matches, but I still love going through Unreal2 every so often. Anything way around that, for both?
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758
User avatar
Wormbo
Adept
Posts: 258
Joined: Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:04 pm

Re: Error Messages

Post by Wormbo »

Finding fixes for that seems really hard. However, I found a very secret link that through some obscure internet magic actually gathers those fixing instructions in a neat list: click me
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 9724
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Re: Error Messages

Post by EvilGrins »

Image
Wormbo wrote:Finding fixes for that seems really hard. However, I found a very secret link that through some obscure internet magic actually gathers those fixing instructions in a neat list: click me
Image

Thank you, kind sir. That was amazing!

Is there also such magic for Unreal2?
Image
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758
User avatar
EvilGrins
Godlike
Posts: 9724
Joined: Thu Jun 30, 2011 8:12 pm
Personal rank: God of Fudge
Location: Palo Alto, CA

Re: Error Messages

Post by EvilGrins »

Translation please!
Image
What happened?!?
http://unreal-games.livejournal.com/
Image
medor wrote:Replace Skaarj with EvilGrins :mrgreen:
Smilies · viewtopic.php?f=8&t=13758