MH-OffworldAssault

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
Buggie
Godlike
Posts: 2742
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: MH-OffworldAssault

Post by Buggie »

1. it is work on (your) server. Checked it just now.
Initially it not work because you need open base for make it work.

Anyway tele from to titans work. maybe you mean something other. IDK.

3. Mapper make it such. Maybe need fix.
User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2807
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: MH-OffworldAssault

Post by Barbie »

Buggie wrote: Wed Nov 17, 2021 1:18 am 1. it is work on (your) server. Checked it just now.
Initially it not work because you need open base for make it work.
Wired. We have done all objectives and killed all monsters but the teleporter didn't take us anywhere.
And shouldn't there be a message in case it is inactive (see code)?
code of class'Shortcut'

Code: Select all

class Shortcut expands VisibleTeleporter;

function Touch( actor Other )
{
	local PlayerDest Dest;
	
	if (Pawn(Other) == None || !Pawn(Other).bIsPlayer)
		return;
	
	URL = "";
	foreach AllActors( class 'PlayerDest', Dest )
		if (Dest.bEnabled)
		{
			URL = string(Dest.tag);
			break;
		}

	if (Url != "")
		Super.Touch(Other);
	else
		Pawn(Other).ClientMessage("The shortcut is not active yet.");
}
4) First time I played the map I found it confusing that closing an entry to a teleporter is an objective. But keeping in mind that it was an Assault map and after a look at it with UnrealEd it makes sense that closing an (one way) teleporter for the defenders is an aim for the attackers.
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett
Buggie
Godlike
Posts: 2742
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: MH-OffworldAssault

Post by Buggie »

> Wired. We have done all objectives and killed all monsters but the teleporter didn't take us anywhere.
I test few times on server. When step into it, it tele me to titans. But not exactly at total clean state. Some players still clear base.
> And shouldn't there be a message in case it is inactive (see code)?
Message worked too. You can check it on start map.
> First time I played the map I found it confusing that closing an entry to a teleporter is an objective.
Yes. it is simple conversion from AS. OFC you can not close this teleports. For MH it is no difference. But maybe some players like shoot flags and feel like done something. Same as clear to 0 monsters: not necessary, but players like do that.
User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2807
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: MH-OffworldAssault

Post by Barbie »

Buggie wrote: Thu Nov 18, 2021 12:21 pm > Wired. We have done all objectives and killed all monsters but the teleporter didn't take us anywhere.
I test few times on server. When step into it, it tele me to titans. But not exactly at total clean state. Some players still clear base.
> And shouldn't there be a message in case it is inactive (see code)?
Message worked too. You can check it on start map.
Found the reason: to avoid the message "Target for Teleporter123 not found" my MapPatcher disables collision for Teleporters without an URL. Fixed.
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6411
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: MH-OffworldAssault

Post by sektor2111 »

Buggie wrote: Sun Nov 14, 2021 3:55 pm I can't add Ammo here. Map stop load.

So yes, use regen hp and ammo.
Yep... But I have something to say here. During map's run-time, Monsters and Hunters are creating actors (projectiles, effects, etc.) which means that in run-time in such a map it's possible to spawn what is missing operated by ONE single actor from map. Actor is waiting 2 seconds and then creating more than ammo. The thing is, actor can use an INI file where things can be configured at user's desire, just my two cents. I copied my Scripting helper into a separate builder and there I can log script codes for spawning X things which I can use anywhere.
Buggie
Godlike
Posts: 2742
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: MH-OffworldAssault

Post by Buggie »

As more simple solution I can use there same approach as for Vortex - spawn monsters later.
Anyway I know few workarounds for fix this.
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 6411
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: MH-OffworldAssault

Post by sektor2111 »

Agree, I have also assets spawning random monsters and... the only thing which I have to study is their collision.
Spawn comes with a few things checked when any actor spawns. Adjusted Monster must have checks or a good timing or else it will be changed twice by itself and spawner. If monster is normal (no drawscale set) other properties can be adjusted (skins, random projectile, etc). You can have them in a template temporary copy of map, log them and script their appearance in main map (after 1 second) nothing is affected here, and you can get rid of iterations taking place when things are initialized at map's load. These are working because I'm already doing them in patch plugins for a few months, and I did them even in a map which I previously fixed.
User avatar
Barbie
Godlike
Posts: 2807
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2015 9:01 pm
Location: moved without proper hashing

Re: MH-OffworldAssault

Post by Barbie »

Maybe fix the air-rooted Tree10 with next update.
Attachments
MH-OffworldAssaultV1-Hovering_Tree10.jpg
MH-OffworldAssaultV1-Hovering_Tree10.jpg
"Multiple exclamation marks," he went on, shaking his head, "are a sure sign of a diseased mind." --Terry Pratchett
Post Reply