Noob trying to set up a rented server.

Discussions about Servers
Azonic DS1
Novice
Personal rank: ABSOLUTE NOOB

Noob trying to set up a rented server.

Post by Azonic DS1 »

I play with a small group of friends (school/college friends from 20 years ago) who also enjoy the company of a few randomers joining in the action.

We decided we would like more control over the map and the game-type and also didn't want to keep wasting time looking for a working server that doesn't require password and that doesn't need additional maps, skins etc to be downloaded. We are happy to just play the original game for now.

After reading up on it I decided to rent a server as recommended by most of the online community.
I thought it would be as simple as running a practice game with bots but it looks as though I have to edit an ini file.

I tried playing around with it for days now but am having no joy.
Can someone please help? I should be able to start tweaking by myself after a bit of practice but I need help just getting started.

I want to:
- advertise the server so any old player from the public can see it in-game and join .
- cycle through (randomly if possible) all team death match maps (all maps and all game types if possible) with the max bots each map allows according to original recommendations.

Sorry for being such a noob. I feel embarrassed to even post this.
Que
Inhuman
Personal rank: ...

Re: Noob trying to set up a rented server.

Post by Que »

Setting up a server from scratch is not really easy these days for UT. There are so many variables involved with ini adjustments and so forth. Master server list updates. Server actors/packages Installation.

Not to mention setting up redirection services on a separate hosting account.
^ this can be bypassed using -lanplay on your startup script.

Other things to Consider is your demographics for the server... What is your ping to the server at current location?