DM-Deck16][ improved paths

Tutorials and discussions about Mapping - Introduce your own ones!
User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: DM-Deck16][ improved paths

Post by sektor2111 » Sat May 29, 2021 5:18 am

If you ask what else is doable let's see:
#1 I can redo here all specs in BOT specific format. Other spectators and hands-clappers are going to be surprised to see RED paths working like a charm but NOT for Monsters destroying all RED paths specific myths written by boys in tutorials.
#2 The connected problem: games will monsters will suffer here and then... doing such version it's not advisable as long as monster navigation it's affected.

Explained Unreal's reality: Red Path in plain original Editor means "THIN-PATH" so to speak a path incompatible with a monster. When Bot is not moving there it's because that Red Path it's a single Path - ONE-WAY - a lock-down more exactly depending on spot, and not a needed normal bidirectional path required in that case. All Red Paths "two-way" are Bot Paths all day long and all the time and they can be used even by human hunter if are not passing through special Bot combos.
Evidences are shown at during tests executed with RememberSpot and ShowPath commands.

Buggie
Masterful
Posts: 715
Joined: Sat Mar 21, 2020 5:32 am

Re: DM-Deck16][ improved paths

Post by Buggie » Sat Jul 31, 2021 12:57 pm

Beta6.
Just rebuild paths with apply fix for solve network issues: https://github.com/OldUnreal/UnrealTour ... issues/129

Most changes possible only visually in UnrealEd.
But in general path finding must now work as should.

Code: Select all

Log: Fix reachspecs
Log: Fixed 1288 reachspecs: use pruned - 0, path without upstream - 149, upstream without path - 428, lost path - 711 in 0.000218 seconds
Log: Prune reachspecs
Log: Pruned 1027 reachspecs in 0.001814 seconds
Log: Fix reachspecs
Log: Fixed 0 reachspecs: use pruned - 0, path without upstream - 0, upstream without path - 0, lost path - 0 in 0.000083 seconds
Before/after pictures:
scr_1627731692.png
scr_1627731740.png
scr_1627731861.png
scr_1627731880.png
DM-Deck16][bots6.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
sektor2111
Godlike
Posts: 5536
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 6:15 pm
Location: On the roof.

Re: DM-Deck16][ improved paths

Post by sektor2111 » Sat Jul 31, 2021 7:40 pm

Interesting... let me see what is there BEFORE any rebuild, then... I'll rebuild paths but not before to clean up old data - old data I think it does junk bytes and borked specs not listed correctly.
In this state as first note - It Is Over-Loaded much over 3000 array. Then... I see funky data:

Code: Select all

...
SpecMissing: Pruned Spec with index 374 could not be found inside DefensePoint0 . Trying to attach ReachSpec.
...
SpecMissing: Pruned Spec with index 376 could not be found inside DefensePoint0 . Trying to attach ReachSpec.
...
SpecMissing: Pruned Spec with index 600 could not be found inside LiftExit29 . Trying to attach ReachSpec.
...
SpecMissing: Pruned Spec with index 605 could not be found inside LiftExit29 . Trying to attach ReachSpec.
...
Just my two cents...

Edit: I have the confirmation - you are perfectly right. We have 7074 ReachSpecs and some of them are not placed where they should be. Editor does garbage. Perhaps now you understand me why I wrote my own tool - even in UScript. That thing is not messing up like here, and I don't need any PrunedPath, I can attach considered missing paths later if I want them + full support for Titans and all those "Big Ones" (ECoop, MonsterHunt, etc.)
Edit2: Even if map is more simple, Editor won't attach all ReachSpecs where they need to be. Eh... Polge...

Thank you, Buggie for your research, now I have all reasons for using my custom tool as much as possible (- or using it for fixing that miserable work of Goblin ).

What's my deduction ? If you can see paths In Editor this doesn't means that all are usable in game, TranslocDest shows the method of removing paths when are not needed and... this stage is very similar, undefined Specs in Navigation Network are not used - logic.

Edit3: Certain maps cannot have all Specs FIXED because... are too many for fitting into Lists referencing the same node. I added a complete report of fixes and failures into my checker tool. If 18 ReachSpecs are having the same node as start, all those out of array should be DELETED as they have no usage at all.

Code: Select all

LostData: ________________________________________________________________
LostData: ReachSpecs missing from Paths[0-15] 		= 1110.
LostData: ReachSpecs missing from upStreamPaths[0-15] 	= 852.
FixedWithSuccess: ReachSpecs successfuly attached 	= 1758.
FixFailures: ReachSpecs attaching failures - probably no place = 204.
LostData: ________________________________________________________________
SpecTest: Testing and fixing specs took: 
	0.465065 seconds.
SpecCheckLocator: Checking Specs Localization has been finished.
Even if in 469c these fixes will be implemented, things are not going to work normally, simply this charge is over Paths Lists. If you have 20 ReachSpecs going from a PathNode and Paths List has 16 places, it will be NO ROOM for all ReachSpecs based on such pathing insanity - very logic. Once again, overcharging a map doesn't improve anything. This dev should never generate more than 16 Specs for a PathNode. Previous 592NN Deck map if it's rebuild my tweaks are getting lost but... Editor won't do any error in Paths as they are placed generating around 1170+ ReachSpecs - ALL normal.

Edit4:
However... I did another private demo map with a few paths. Original DevPath did ZERO errors, all was build in original - including paths over a Trap-Mover - there are only 50 ReachSpecs. Hit me with a PM if you want to see it.

Edit5:
Before XC ages and before everything Paths related, my MAP MH-3072-FloorWays_rv1 (even rv2 because paths are the same) does NOT include any Lost ReachSpec, all data is placed normally as the map is following what Polge was saying/recommending/explaining and using only UT Editor 436/440. If a "mapper" does modifications without to know what was about it will cause damage to map as the map doesn't need any editing being checked multiple times.